How to Paint a Wood Desk

My sister and I recently redecorated our room and my desk was one of the pieces of furniture that was redone. I have had this desk for a number of years. It’s a great piece of furniture but it needed some work.

Before picture

Sand the wood in the direction of the grain.

The fully sanded desk–it’s going to take several hours. Be patient and stick with it. 

Sanding the chair was somewhat of a headache. It took awhile to get all the nooks and crannies. This would be a good project to listen to dramatized audios. 🙂

Prime the desk and let dry. I did it in our (chilly) garage and it took awhile to fully dry. The paint soaked into the wood and turned pinkish.

Desk drawers.

After the primer is fully dry, do a light sanding.

Now, do a coat of paint. If you’re using a light color be prepared for two coats of paint.

Sand everything again lightly. You can see how thin the paint still looks.

By the second coat, it looked much better.

Now comes the fun part. After the paint is dry, start sanding again. Distress it as much as you want. I wanted mine pretty distressed so it took awhile.

I left the knobs brown. I was going to replace them originally but liked the look of the dark on white. If I find a really great deal on some cuter knobs, though, I just might pick them up.

The entire project took two full days. It was well-worth the work and I love it. Next up, is re-doing the chair seat.

I hope this was helpful. If you have any questions, please feel free to comment or contact me.

One thought on “How to Paint a Wood Desk

Leave a Reply

