Days of Gratitude, Part One

Source

Thanksgiving is probably one of my favorite holidays. It’s greatly overshadowed by the previous holiday, Halloween, and the upcoming holiday, Christmas, and does not get nearly the amount of attention that it deserves. Each year it reminds me to thank the Lord for not just the big things in life but the little things, too. This week, I will endeavor to share 100 things for which I am thankful. Check back each day for more.

  1. My God and King, my Creator
  2. A Saviour who willingly sacrificed His life to give me eternal life.
  3. My dad who provides for and protects me.
  4. My mom who is my best friend.
  5. My brother Brian who can logically explain just about any political issue.
  6. My sister-in-law Amy who is a great friend and encourager.
  7. My brother Andrew who provides plenty of piano music.
  8. My brother Jonathan who quietly gives us something to think about.
  9. My brother Benjamin who gives us something to laugh about.
  10. My sister Anna who, with her knack for creativity, adds beauty to our home.
  11. My sister Bethany who blesses us with her kitchen skills.
  12. My sister Chloe who adds joy to our lives with her drama.
  13. My brother Joseph who keeps us all busy answering his questions.
  14. My brother Nathan who loves to laugh.
  15. My brother Philip, who, in his 61 days of life, reminded us that life is short and to cherish every moment.
  16. My four godly grandparents who, with their example, encourage me to live a life pleasing to the Lord.
  17. Uncles and aunts
  18. Cousins–several of whom are my closest friends.
  19. My church family
  20. My godly pastor
  21. Sweet young friends who challenge and encourage me
  22. Older women who are the example of a Titus 2 woman.
  23. Sunday School kiddos
  24. Like-minded families
  25. Missionaries
5 thoughts on “Days of Gratitude, Part One

  1. Jane

    Thank You, Abbie, for not forgetting Thanksgiving. My favorite holiday of the year!! For me it is the most relaxed and unhurried holiday. I love getting together with family and friends and sharing a marvelous dinner and fond memories, and making new memories!! I don’t watch a lot of football, but the family does and it is fun to watch them get excited over their favorite team or get upset when things aren’t going so well in the game. 😦 Most importantly, I am thankful for my Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ!! He died for me and I am truly thankful for His love and work on the cross.

    Let’s keep giving Thanks for all things 🙂

    Thank you Abbie!!

    Reply
  2. Abbey Lange

    Thanks for this great post! I love Thanksgiving and it bothers me how over-looked it is each year. For me, it is the most convicting holiday! 😉 Always reminds me of just how much I have to be thankful for, even if I think I’m going through a rough time. Something Pastor Van said in his message last night is still on my mind: “It is impossible to be anxious and thankful at the same time.” So true!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: |Days of Gratitude, Part Two| | The Blue Tree House

  4. Pingback: |Days of Gratitude, Part Three| | The Blue Tree House

  5. Pingback: |Days of Gratitude, Part Four| | The Blue Tree House

Leave a Reply

