Benefits of Coconut Oil | Hair Moisturizer

One of my readers suggested that I share some benefits of coconut oil. The last several months have found me experimenting with different ways to use this wonderful oil. Here’s one of my favorite uses of coconut oil.

I love using coconut oil as a deep conditioning treatment for my hair. My hair is medium-long, slightly wavy, and thick. I use heat on it (curling, straightening, etc.) 4-5 days per week. I like to use TreSemme’s Climate Control Shampoo and Conditioner when washing it.

Here are two ways that I’ve done it. The overnight treatment takes a little longer but works better.

Overnight treatment: Take a couple teaspoons of coconut oil and melt it in your hands. As it melts, begin running your fingers through your hair. Repeat as often as necessary to coat all of your hair in oil. Focus especially on the ends of your hair. Gather your hair into a bun on top of your head. Wrap your hair in plastic wrap or a plastic bag (like a Walmart bag). Tie a old t-shirt on your head to keep the plastic in place and the oil off your pillow. Sleep on it. In the morning, shampoo, rinse, shampoo, rinse. Dry and style.

30-minute treatment: Melt 2 tablespoons of coconut oil in the microwave. You’ll want the oil warm, but not hot. Thoroughly coat your hair with the oil. Gather hair into bun and let soak for 30 minutes. Shampoo, rinse, shampoo, rinse. Dry and style.

IMG_0739

Healthy, happy hair.

As always, contact me with any questions you may have.

Leave a Reply

